Wednesday, 9. December 2009
A Minnesota DWI is an “enhanceable” offense, meaning certain factors can increase the charges of a Minnesota drunk driving offense. Depending on which aggravating factors the driver is accused of, the level of severity of the offense will vary. If the driver is accused of any of the following circumstances, the charges will increase:
- The individual’s blood alcohol content exceeds .20.
- A child under the age of 16 is in the motor vehicle at the time of the offense, and the child is more than 36 months younger than the offender.
- A prior impaired driving incident conviction or alcohol related driver’s license revocation that occurred in the ten years directly preceding the current DWI offense.
Any of these factors alone, or in combination, will result in you being charged with a higher “degree” of DWI. According to the Minnesota DWI law, the appropriate level of violation (i.e. “degree’) is determined by the number of present aggravating factors.
Regardless of the degree of your Minnesota DWI charge, Appelman Law Firm has an experienced Minnesota DWI defense attorney for you to consult with now. We have over 16 years of drunk driving defense experience. Our skilled Minnesota criminal defense attorneys know that the criminal consequences of a Minnesota DWI are serious. Let Appelman Law Firm experience help you through your’s. Call Appelman Law Firm to speak with one of our veteran Minnesota DWI defense attorneys, and develop a strategy to achieve all of your legal objectives. You may reach one of our criminal defense lawyers at 1-800-DIAL-DWI, anytime, day or night.